× Search
Log In Sign Up

Hume City Council


Hume City Council is one of Australia’s fastest-growing and culturally-diverse communities and is home to nearly 249,000 residents. Spanning a total area of 504 square kilometres, the City is located in Melbourne’s northern fringe, just 15 kilometres from the centre of Melbourne. The City’s rich history stretches back over 40,000 years, when the indigenous communities of the Gunung-Willam-Balluk first inhabited the region. Today, just over 35 per cent of Hume residents were born overseas (70,435 people) and come from 156 different countries. Hume residents speak over 150 languages. Hume is built around the established suburbs of Broadmeadows, Tullamarine and Gladstone Park in the south, the developing residential suburbs of Craigieburn, Greenvale, Mickleham, Kalkallo and Roxburgh Park in the north-east and the Sunbury township in the north-west. It is made up of a vibrant mix of contrasts including new and established residential areas, major industrial and commercial precincts and vast expanses of rural areas and parkland. The Melbourne Airport accounts for 10 per cent of the total area of Hume City. The municipality was formally created in 1994 to incorporate sections of the former Shire of Bulla, City of Broadmeadows, City of Whittlesea and City of Keilor. Hume is also home to major road transit routes including the Tullamarine Freeway, Western Ring Road, Hume Highway and the Craigieburn Bypass and is abutted by the Calder Freeway to the west. Hume is bound by the local government areas of Moreland, Whittlesea, Brimbank, Macedon Ranges, Melton and Mitchell.